Light or Dark, We Have Each Other

To the man who saw all of me, and loves me anyways, thank you.

Can you recall so long ago, the first time we met?

We started off on the right track, being friends first.

Mexican and margaritas was our thing. The first time we went out and shared a meal as friends, I opened my heart to you. That is very rare indeed. It is usually me hearing the problems, not me telling the problems.

I never felt judged by you. I never felt criticized by you. I felt comfortable to be who I was in the moment.

It is funny sometimes how things work out. Your life took a turn and a lot of things began to change for you. We would lose touch every couple months and then find each other again. Ours was a rare sort of friendship. Looking back now, I can see it was the beginning of a foundation.

My life took a turn and a lot of things began changing for me. We found solace in one another. We found an open ear in each other. We found good advice and strong shoulders in each other.

We began to bring out the best in each other. You began to chip away at the ice covering my heart. You awakened feelings in me I thought were non-existent.

We got each other. You had me talking for hours on the phone. As an introvert, I hate talking on the phone. You took me under your wing and had me feeling protected in a way I hadn’t experienced before.

You had me craving affection which was a total turn around for me. I was not affectionate nor did I want affection, until you.

You gave me the space and the love to explore who I am. You had patience with me when I began shaking away deeply rooted issues. We combined our lives and our homes and it was amazing.

You saw me. You loved me, for me. We were so in sync we practically became mind readers. We understood each other and when something arose that we didn’t understand, we sought to.

Ours was the love that rivaled any love story. What I lacked, you had and vise-versa. I will forever be thankful that you entered my life and we ended up where we did.

We have weathered so much shit over the last few years, it seems truly unfair. But we kept on truckin’, looking to each other for support.

The connection, the spark, that we have is still there. Things are rough going lately. Some of the patience we once had is chipped away. Some of the understanding we once sought out is hiding.

We have so many outside influences working to pull us apart. We have so many reasons to throw in the towel. Yet, we are both still here. You have seen me at my lowest and darkest and did not turn away. I have seen your shadows and demons want to come out to play. I am still here.

You saw me all those years ago. You believed in me. You trusted me. You protected me. You loved me.

I see you, still. I believe in you. I am proud of you. Life wants to keep throwing shit at us but our time is coming. We have been working tirelessly to reach the destination of ‘better’. The light at the end of the tunnel is getting brighter. ‘Better’ is within our reach.

I love you more than before. I still get butterflies and tingles when we touch.

You are a good man. You are an honest man. You are a hard-working man.You are a lover and a fighter. You are a fixer. Seriously, there is nothing you couldn’t fix. I admire you. I appreciate you.

Hard times can hurt. Hard times can suck ass. We’ve had enough hard times to know this is true. But we have overcome every single hard time that has been presented to us.

Our love still rivals any love story for it is rare to openly accept light and dark in the person you love. Your shadows will not cause me to run away for they are a part of you and I accept all of you.

I will be your strength when you are down. I will be your voice when words escape you. I will be the light when you are lost. I will be steady when you are stumbling. I will be gentle when you are stubborn.

We will not always agree. We will not always like each other.

But my love for you holds true and that won’t change. We are the best team, together.

Picture From: http://www.designveryeasy.com/tags/Love-Jack-and-Sally-Tattoos-40493

Author: Krystal Joy

Just a mom of many forging my way in this world seeking balance. Peace/Love/Happiness.

1 thought on “Light or Dark, We Have Each Other”

Leave a Reply

