Remember When: Words From Childhood

Remember the innocence of being a child? Reveling in the sunshine? The slides and swings of huge playgrounds? The endless laughter? The comfort of home? The love and support of two caring and kind parents?

I don’t.

Remember the first time you got stung by a bee? You probably ran, crying, to your mom/dad, seeking that magical kiss that cures any boo-boo.

Remember the first time you came home with a near-perfect report card? You probably thrust it excitingly at your mom/dad, seeking those magic words:  I’m so proud of you!

Remember the first time your best friend got mad at you? You probably sat up in bed, getting goodnights from mom/dad, seeking the comforting affirmation of ‘It’s going to be okay!’.

Remember the first time you felt bold enough to voice opposition? You probably looked to your parents for their support of your decision.

Remember the first time you got your heart broken by young love? You probably sought out words of wisdom from mom/dad on how to move forward. Maybe you even went through your reel of wonderful memories of what good love looks like.

Remember the first time you accidently hurt someone else? You probably felt terrible and found comfort in the open arms of your sympathetic parents.

Remember the first time your team made it to the championship game? You probably looked to the bleachers and waved to your proud and excited mom/dad who were eagerly watching you play.

Remember the first time you felt sick? You probably had mom/dad checking your temperature and fussing over you to get better.

Remember when…

No. No, I don’t.

I read somewhere, once before, that the way you speak to your children will become their inner voice. I can tell you, from experience, it is not an easy task to re-wire an inner voice.

I cannot say with certainty that my parents never provided a positive, loving voice for me. I can say with certainty that I do not remember it. The lack of positivity in my childhood is crippling me in my adult life.

Speak kindly to children, always. Do not break them down. Build them up. They are fragile and absorb everything. They are innocent. Do not be the one to shatter that innocence.

I’m so proud of you.

I’m here for you.

I believe in you.

I support you.

I love you.

Tell your kids. Tell them often.

Photo is my own.

Author: Krystal Joy

Just a mom of many forging my way in this world seeking balance. Peace/Love/Happiness.

2 thoughts on “Remember When: Words From Childhood”

  1. I remember talking to you about a bully at school, and gave you advise how to handle it, you cam running in so excited that it worked. I remember those report cards, and told you how happy and awesome it was to see, I remember telling you kids ‘you can do anything you put your mind to’. I remember the kitchen being small and all of you out there talking about school. I remember watching all games and practices of you kids and having to bounce from one field to another to watch all of you. I remember field trips I took and the times I was helping At school. I remember the good nite hugs and kisses that I would give. And the shoes I would throw when you girls wanted to lay in there and laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

